the questioning angel

there was once a happy angel
who dwelt on high
in a castle made of clouds
in the star-studded sky
& at every sunrise
when the birds began to sing
the angel would join in
by clapping her wings

she wasn’t bad, this angel
with eyes that shone like jewels
though she often got in trouble
for breaking the Big Guy’s rules
she asked a lotta questions
this laughing little wraith
& this annoyed the Head Angel,
thinking she questioned her faith

the Head Angel complained to the Lord:
“All these questions cause dissension!
She has far too many doubts;
she should be punished with suspension!”
well, the Lord was loath to do this,
but He wanted a little peace
so He gave in to the Head Angel,
& ordered all questions to cease

the little angel was grieved, & asked:
“Why do you do this, Lord?
If I don’t question, I won’t learn –
‘s if you’ve slain me with a sword!
I love all the gifts you’ve given me,
most especially Free Will,
I mean no harm with my questions,
& I love you deeply still!”

“Sometimes,” the Big Guy pondered
“Responding to you is a weighty task.
For though I love you also,
there’re some questions you should not ask.”
“I can deal with that,” the angel said,
humbly bowing her head
& she never asked another question –
she wrote them all down instead

copyright © 2014 KPM

questioning angel pic

3 thoughts on “the questioning angel

Comments welcome - talk to me!

