Cambridgeshire skies

a smokestack spits into a cloud
a hawk breaks free of the feathered crowd
the tunes in the car is playin’ real loud
an’ we’re singin’ as we cruise down the road

in the Beamer we’re willingly trapped
both seatbelts are securely strapped
I’m starin’ out the window, totally rapt
as we go cruisin’ down the road

October clouds look just like fleece
from the past I’ve found release
an’ a tear forms at the corner of my eye
at my first sight of the Cambridgeshire sky

the air’s filled with a farm-country scent
sunbeams play on the River Trent
an’ we’re feelin’ no discontent
while we’re cruisin’ down the road

the A1 goes on endlessly
each mile a new discovery
an’ my best friend’s next to me
as we go cruisin’ down the road

wind turbines gaily spin
autumn sunshine warms my skin
an’ I’m so happy that I cry
at my first sight of the Cambridgeshire sky

copyright © 2014 KPM

Cambridgeshire skies pic

Comments welcome - talk to me!

