the boy with red laces

I saw a boy this morning
he had red laces in his shoes
his hair was lank & greasy
his right eye had a bruise

he wore a dirty sweatshirt
his jeans had a hole at the knee
& he shivered with the cold
as he shyly glanced at me

though the morning air was chilly
his forehead shone with sweat
as he timidly enquired
if I had a cigarette

I took out my menthol Sterlings
I placed them in his grimy hand
saying, “you can keep ‘em, dude,
‘s okay – I understand.”

he thanked me then he hurried off
this boy with red laces in his shoes
just another fragile human
with a face full of the blues

copyright © 2008-2014 KPM

red laces pic

3 thoughts on “the boy with red laces

  1. This is so sad and it hurts to read . I have three sons and thank God they are all grown flown and settled , I also have to touch wood after saying that. I always feel pangs of pain when I see a young lad begging or even just down. There but for the grace of God that could be any of us. Thanks for sharing.

    Like

Comments welcome - talk to me!

