trolley people

in the shadow of an old church steeple
just before it starts to rain
I stand an’ watch the trolley people
faces lined & fulla pain

tiredly they traverse the pavement
they do not look at me
ragged souls of circumstance
that others refuse to see

scarred men an’ shattered women
all ages, black an’ white
seemingly oblivious
their eyes devoid of light

they push their creakin’ trolleys
luggin’ everything they own
an’ I feel a twinge of guilt
as I dash for my cozy home

copyright © 2010-2014 KPM

trolley people

Comments welcome - talk to me!

