city centre, Dundee

the city centre’s all shrouded in mist
it’s struggling to awake
the tops of church spires by clouds are kissed
the damp chill makes me shake

rowdy schoolboys chase giggling girls
a newsman sets up in the square
all the streetlamps shine like pearls
as cold wind caresses my hair

my heels click on the cobblestones
while I dig in my leather bag
I hear two competing mobile phones
as I light up my first fag

the Christmas lights shine brightly
Debenhams has a temptin’ display
but I’m skint so I skip past it –
no shoppin’ for me today!

copyright © 2007-2014 KPM

3 thoughts on “city centre, Dundee

Comments welcome - talk to me!

