heat

it was hot – so hot
I sat at home & thought
“will I, or will I not
brave the steamin’ Cleveland streets?
curse the sticky tar
that’s sure to burn my tender feet?”

but I wanted a new pair of earrings –
it was my birthday, you see
so I locked the door behind me
& took the elevator down

the Square was loud – too loud
though sweaty heads were bowed
no one seemed cowed
by heat that shimmered
I stood patiently in line
behind a woman whose hair glimmered

I was thinking of those earrings –
imaginin’ how they’d look, you see
when I heard your voice behind me
& my stomach dropped down

“We’re both in for a long wait
& this heat will not abate
“sit with me – share a cold fruit plate”
gray eyes smiled with a glint
no wedding ring I saw
so as simply as that, I went

“I’m goin’ to buy some earrings –
It’s my birthday, you see”
you leaned in & smiled at me
& confused, my eyes looked down

without the slightest hesitant trace
I took you back to my place
together we entered that holy space
our love was a passionate haze
consigned to
150 days

but all I’d wanted was new earrings –
it was my birthday, you see
I never thought he’d abandon me
break my heart, leave me down

copyright © 2015 KPM

Heat 2

Comments welcome - talk to me!

