a long way from the rock [for SZ]

I remember those youthful days
hangin’ out in my backyard
before we entered life’s oft treacherous maze
before the choices we made grew hard

I remember diaries
those girlhood secrets we would share
you admired my daring
I worshiped those curls in your hair

although our lives were defined
by a vastly different clock
each day our friendship grew stronger
afternoons by the rock

an unlikely pair we made:
your nature was sunny, while mine was like night
you were blessed with tact
I was bullish & forthright

two disparate souls were we
folks were surprised that we were friends
but we ignored them, traversing through life
closer than siblings or twins

we told each other everything
with no worries that we might shock
our friendship was solidified
in those afternoons by the rock

from Barbie dolls to boys we laughed
cryin’ through marriage & divorce
I tried to keep you anchored
as you struggled to keep me on course

eventually we learned the hard way
that all we thought we knew was a lie
children were born, then they grew
together we watched our fathers die

we’ve grown old & wise together
payin’ no mind to that clock
drawin’ strength from our love for each other
& all those afternoons by the rock

copyright © 2015 KPM

IMG_20150427_232211

 

Comments welcome - talk to me!

