Ziggy Stardust doesn’t live here any more

Ziggy Stardust doesn’t live here any more
he got on that ship with Major Tom
they closed the hatch an’ locked the door
reckon Ziggy was fed up with this place
he might even be happier, among the stars in space

but I can’t believe I won’t see Ziggy any more
for so many years I loved him
his loss leaves me heart sore
I’d play his music LOUD – how I’d dance & laugh!
(an’ my daddy threatened to break my phonograph)

Ziggy Stardust understood me
if I raged or if I cried
to him I was no oddity
he saw through all my angst & pride
this fellow traveller who dwelled Outside

No, Ziggy Stardust doesn’t live here any more
he left me vinyl, two new CDs
& memories galore
my life will continue, though Ziggy’s gone away
in my head, in my heart, his guitar will always play

copyright © 2016 KPM

ziggy_stardust

Comments welcome - talk to me!

