the calendar says summer is over

today I’m feelin’ sad
an’ I’m unsure as to why
could be the unwelcome knowledge
that all those I love will one day die

could be the arrival of autumn
a season I’ve come to hate
as dead leaves dance through dark nights
I’m reminded of my loved ones fate

maybe it’s the simple fact
that my mirror says I’ve grown older
possessor of eyes that water
as autumn winds blow ever colder

those who were my idols
heroes, friends & family
cancer, heart attacks, accidents, old age
kidnap all those who once loved me

an’ yet I’m not much bothered
by the thought this’ll happen to me
my death will come as a relief
at last the black dog will let me be

copyright © 2016 KPM

the calendar says summer is over

 

2 thoughts on “the calendar says summer is over

Comments welcome - talk to me!

