she lives in hope

I wish I knew if others
were like me:
haunted, chased
by memory

slain by a smell that triggers
images of a past wrong
battling tears when the DJ
innocently plays that song

surely there are other
wounded souls like me
seeking a better future
as past wreckage they flee

I try my best to be happy
it’s not an impossible task
& I don’t want your false acceptance –
I don’t need it, nor will I ask

I know I’m not the only one
in life to feel this way
luckily I’m not alone
as I head toward a better day

copyright © 2016 KPM

she-lives-in-hope

 

One thought on “she lives in hope

Comments welcome - talk to me!

