putting up the Christmas tree

it’s just a small fibre-optic
Christmas tree
the first big present
he ever gave to me
a tree that he’d bought
for his mother
giving it to me
meant he saw me like no other

a tiny tree
with twinkling lights
it warms my soul
on cold winter nights
a gift from a man I think
was sent from heaven above
a special present that proves
I’m worthy of love

never has he come to me
with empty heart or hands
he’s always there to lead me out
when I’m trapped in the dark lands
gifts & love unbidden
he brings when I am sad
the only constant in my life
this stalwart Scottish lad

so I assemble my little tree
this gift you gave to me with love
& as I do I thank
whatever God exists above
for the blessings in my life
for all the good you do
most of all I thank the Lord
for yet another Christmas with you

copyright © 2016 KPM

SANYO DIGITAL CAMERA

 

One thought on “putting up the Christmas tree

Comments welcome - talk to me!

