entreaty at 2am

give her back
Lord please, hit <rewind>
take me back to another time
to when my Mom was still alive
& I could pull my little car into the drive
to see her standin’ on the front porch

do me this favour
Lord, send me back to before
I need to see my Momma open that front door
wanna hear the way her footsteps beat
voice floatin’ behind her “baby, you want sumthin to eat?”
cause I can’t carry this torch

I won’t ask for nothin’ else
Lord, just rectify this mistake
can’t bear the thought she’s gone…endlessly I shake
I need my Mom back, to quiet my fears
to dry my brother & sisters tears
cause my heart’s broke & my skin is scorched

copyright © 2017 KPM

Comments welcome - talk to me!

