presence

she is there
reflected in the bathroom mirror
gazing out with eyes
strong & clear

she is there
cupped in the palm of my left hand
a firm yet gentle tug
which each morning helps me stand

& he is there
a sentinel beside my bed
the loving voice of reason
that speaks softly in my head

he is there
whenever I am most afraid
when I feel I can’t go on
his memory lends me aid

they’re all there
watching out for me
collective protection
that forces demons to flee

God is there
in the stormy skies above
shedding His precious tears
on the garden that I love

God is there
in my fingers on these keys
He’s my partner’s arms
giving me a gentle squeeze

God is here
on my skin, in my heart
assuring me that all is well
as I make a brand-new start

copyright © 2017 KPM

2 thoughts on “presence

Comments welcome - talk to me!

