at the Wheatsheaf

in a slow-setting sun
we amble slowly along
as the skies of West Beckham
ring with bird song
I’m holdin’ the hand
of my best friend
ready for tea
at the Wheatsheaf Inn

an old stone building
covered in ivy that’s run amok
in a gorgeous setting
that leaves me dumbstruck
I’m so happy to be
with my best friend
walkin’ through the doors
of the Wheatsheaf Inn

the owner greets us
with a dazzling smile
she shows us to our table
chatterin’ all the while
I look over the top of the menu
at my best friend
we’re both delighted
by the choices
at the Wheatsheaf Inn

the food arrives
& it’s delicious
we share our couples’ jokes
laughin’ though they’re repetitious
sated by food & sun
I give my hand to my best friend
as we walk back to the cottage
& away from the Wheatsheaf Inn

copyright © 2017 KPM

One thought on “at the Wheatsheaf

Comments welcome - talk to me!

